Flag of Bolivia: meaning and colors

Bolivia – a country of contrasts, not paying attention to the wealth of natural resources, is considered one of the poorest in the world. Its multinational population is not less than 37 languages ​​considered official. And the municipal flag is referred to as the Tricolor of Freedom, which is fully justified, taking into account that since its approval in the first half of the 50s of the nineteenth century, more than 200 city coups happened in Bolivia. The unchanged struggle for the freedom of the Bolivian people was reflected in the banner and the coat of arms of the country.

Photo of the modern flag of Bolivia:

Flag of Bolivia-1

History flag of Bolivia

The 1st municipal flag in Bolivia or the Bolivarian Republic, as she was then called, appeared in 1825, at the time, at that time, at a time, when the country became free. The banner imagined a wide horizontal red stripe and two narrower green stripes on the sides.

There were two versions of the flag. Mourning, in the center of which was started by one gold star in a laurel wreath, symbolizing the unity of the Bolivian people, and a solemn with 5 stars denoting 5 departments (regions), which were part of the country at the time.

Flag of Bolivia-2 Flag of Bolivia-3

Red and green flags existed not long. Already in the 2nd half of the 20s of the XIX century, the new President of the Bolivarian Republic of Antonio José de Sucre issued a decree on the transformation of the municipal banner. From the modern it was different from the order of flowers: yellow, red, green (in case of listing from top to bottom). The coat of arms of the country was also sought in the center – two ladies, holding the inscription “Bolivia” and a shield in the framing of branches, on which Mountain, Lama, breadwinner, and 6 stars – signs of departments were depicted.

Flag of Bolivia-4 Flag of Bolivia-5

The modern tricolor was adopted in the first half of the 50s of the nineteenth century and existed to the present day without any transformations.

Government wears the title of Bolivia in honor of Simon Bolivar.


The flag of Bolivia is a rectangular cloth with an aspect ratio of 22:15 and 3 equal horizontal stripes. The center houses the municipal coat of arms, differing from what was adopted from 1826 to 1963. Apart from the official municipal flag in Bolivia, there is also the village flag – a tricolor without a coat of arms.

Another sign of Bolivia is considered to be Vipla – the banner of the Reiki Aimar (1st of the Inca tribes who lived in this area). This is a cloth with equal sides filled with 49 squares of 7 colors: white, yellow, orange, red, purple, blue, and green. Since 2009, in the country of Vipla, it is consumed in the official flag, but only a supplement to it is available, and not an equal replacement.

Flag of Bolivia-6

Bolivia lost access to the sea in the investigation of the Pacific War in 1879-1883, At the end of which the Litoral Department was included in Chile. But, the country is as before, there is an individual fleet (river and lake vessels), and there is a naval flag – a blue rectangular cloth with a tricolor of Bolivia and Vipal in the upper left corner, they are framed by 9 yellow stars. The tenth star – the sign of the lost department, is located in the center of the banner.

Flag of Bolivia-7 Flag of Bolivia-8

Bolivia is considered one of the poor states. Although there are copper ores, gold, and oil, and gas. But 50% of the country’s economy occupies feeding the creation and koki drugs from this plant.

Colors flag of Bolivia

The color palette of the flag remains unchanged during the almost 2nd century. In the modern version, the upper strip – red, medium – yellow, and lower – green. The coat of arms used a huge number of colors and colors, which are significantly different in various hypotheses.

Meaning colors flag Bolivia

The Meaning of the lanes on the banner was approved in Bolivia in the 2nd half of the 80s of the XIX century during the Board of President Gregorio Pacheco Lees.

  1. Red – blood sign spilled by braves in the struggle for the preservation and creation of the republic.
  2. Yellow – a sign of the natural well-being and wealth of the country (one of the guesses, also symbolizes the indigenous inhabitants – Inc).
  3. Green – earth symbol.

On the coat of arms of Bolivia in the round field depicted Lama, a sheaf of wheat and bread page on the background of the mountain of Potosi over which the sun rises. These are the main agricultural resources rich in the government.

On a blue ribbon, which is framed oval, there is an inscription “Bolivia” and 10 five-pointed gold stars, symbolizing the departments (regions) of the country, including the littoral, which became part of Chile in the first half of the 1980s of the XIX century.

Near the central image is placed 6 red-yellow-green signs – 3 on each side, 2 Crossed guns, 4 Muskets, and battle solids. On bayonet 1 of the muskets, it is permissible to notice the red Thracian cap – a sign of the struggle for freedom.

Crowning composition Big Condor and Laurel Wreath – The most huge Andes Bird, Majesty Sign.

There is also a version that there is no laurel on the coat of arms, but the leaves of Coca (cocaine bush) – plants that are usually used by residents to pick up the charge of cheerfulness. In 2007, a proposal was put forward in the Bolivian parliament to officially consolidate this version directly, but it did not take assistance from the government.

Non-specialized information about Bolivia

Official language Spanish, Kechua, Aimar, Guarani, and 33 more languages.
Capital Sucre
Population 1 098 581 km2
Territory 11 639 9095 people
Currency Boliviano (BOB, code 68)
Telephone code +591
( No ratings yet )
Leave a Reply

;-) :| :x :twisted: :smile: :shock: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :lol: :idea: :grin: :evil: :cry: :cool: :arrow: :???: :?: :!: